RSE Honour for St Andrews academics

Andrew Eccles
Tuesday 8 March 2016

Six “outstanding” academics at the University of St Andrews have been awarded Fellowships of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

The prestigious accolade recognises the advancement of learning and useful knowledge, which is at the centre of public life, across the arts, business, and technology and science sectors.

Joining Scotland’s National Academy this week are: poet and Professor of Creative Writing John Burnside, Professor of Iranian History Ali Ansari, Professor in Physical Chemistry Sharon Ashbrook, Professor of Philosophy Katherine Hawley, Professor in Evolutionary Origins of Mind Josep Call, and Professor of Marine Mammal Biology Peter Tyack.

They are among 56 senior scientists, celebrated writers and eminent academics named as new Fellows elected to join the prestigious group. The latest entrants also include composer and violinist Sally Beamish, Lord Smith of Kelvin Robert Haldane, and Dr Graeme Malcolm of M Squared Lasers, who is working in partnership with St Andrews scientists to develop new technologies with the potential to transform healthcare.

President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, commented: “It is fantastic to welcome such a range of outstanding individuals to the Fellowship. Each newly elected Fellow has been nominated on their notable and extensive achievements. In joining the Fellowship, they will strengthen the RSE’s capacity to advance excellence across all areas of public life, both in Scotland and further afield.”

Spanning the arts, business, and science and technology sectors, the new Fellows join the RSE which aims to place the advancement of learning and useful knowledge at the centre of public life in Scotland.

New Fellows are elected each year through a rigorous five-stage nomination process.

The Fellowship numbers more than 1600 individuals from Scotland, the UK and overseas.

Professor Ali Massoud Ansari FRSE