Symposia Iranica is the product of thousands of volunteer hours

Symposia Iranica is a group effort that could not be realised without the input, support, and contributions of many people – from its conception in November 2011 through to the first stages of organisation in February 2012, the inaugural conference in 2013 and those that followed in 2015, 2017, 2019, and now 2022/23.

2012 – present

Symposia Iranica is a collaborative initiative
that involves dozens of contributors.

Image details

Conference opening reception celebrating Professor Charles Melville, Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge

This initiative is critically dependent on the voluntary services of the academics who, whether as advisers, hosts, invitors, referees, peer reviewers, chairs, discussants, speakers, or prize adjudicators, generously perform a wide and crucial range of tasks. All of this constitutes an unquantifiable voluntary contribution without which the conference would simply be unable to take place. Some have also dedicated funds from a variety of institutional and personal sources to enable us to commit more of our grants toward subsidising places for early career participants. We are thrilled to acknowledge them here and thank them deeply for becoming involved.

  • Dr Pejman Abdolmohammadi, John Cabot University
  • Dr Roham Alvandi, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Dr Ladan Akbarnia, British Museum
  • Dr Lindsay Allen, King’s College London, University of London
  • Ms Haleh Anvari, Columbia University
  • Professor Ali M. Ansari FRSE FRAS, University of St Andrews
  • Dr Assef Ashraf, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Michael Axworthy, University of Exeter (1962-2019)
  • Dr Sussan Babaie, Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London
  • Professor Oliver Bast, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3
  • Dr François de Blois, University College London
  • Dr Moya Carey, Victoria and Albert Museum
  • Dr John E. Curtis FBA FSA OBE, Iran Heritage Foundation and the British Museum
  • Dr Vesta Sarkhosh Curtis, British Museum
  • Professor James Davila, University of St Andrews
  • Ms Yasmin Faghihi, University of Cambridge
  • Mrs Narguess Farzad, SOAS, University of London
  • Dr Hassan Fazeli, University of Reading
  • Dr Mahbod Ghaffari, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Maryam Ghorbankarimi, Lancaster University
  • Dr Melanie Gibson, Gingko Library
  • Dr Tim Greenwood, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Jaakko Hameen-Anttila, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Thomas Harrison, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Carole Hillenbrand FBA FRSE FRHistS FRAS OBE CBE, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Robert Hillenbrand FBA FRSE, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Almut Hintze FBA SOAS, University of London
  • Dr Shabnam Holliday SFHEA, University of Plymouth
  • Professor Deborah Howard FBA FRSE FSA FSA Scot Hon FRIAS, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Ahmad Karimi-Hakkak, University of Maryland
  • Professor Lorenz Korn, University of Bamberg
  • Dr Leonard Lewisohn, University of Exeter (1953-2018)
  • Mrs Jane Lewisohn, SOAS, University of London
  • Professor Lloyd Llewellyn-Jones, University of Cardiff
  • Professor Charles Melville, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Firuza I. Melville FRAS, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Jean-Michel Massing FSA, University of Cambridge
  • Professor David Morgan FRAS, University of Wisconsin-Madison (1945-2019)
  • Dr Madhavi Nevader, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Andrew Newman, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Laudan Nooshin, City University London
  • Professor Andrew C.S. Peacock FSA, University of St Andrews
  • Dr Nacim Pak-Shiraz, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Evaleila Pesaran, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Cameron Petrie, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Venetia Porter FRAS, British Museum
  • Dr Siavush Randjbar-Daemi, University of St Andrews
  • Dr Lloyd Ridgeon, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Christine van Ruymbeke FRAS, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Nicholas Sims-Williams FBA, SOAS, University of London
  • Mrs Ursula Sims-Williams, British Library
  • Professor Annabelle Sreberny FRSA, SOAS, University of London
  • Dr Sarah Stewart, SOAS, University of London
  • Dr Ilse Sturkenboom, University of St Andrews
  • Dr Saeed Talajooy, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Alan Williams, University of Manchester
  • Mr Tim Williams FSA, University College London